Ipl Governing Council Announces Ipl Schedule, No Team Will Play On Home Ground

Keeping an end to long waiting and speculations on match venues, the Indian Premier League(IPL) Governing Council announced the match schedule for the upcoming 2021 season.

The schedule came as a piece of bad news for SRH fans as no matches will be played in Hyderabad this season. The same goes for Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings teams.

The council has fixed Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata, and Delhi as the match venues for the forthcoming seasons. However, unlike every season no team will be able to play in the home ground this time.

The inaugural game will be played between defending champion Mumbai Indians and Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) on April 9. The Chennai MA Chidambaram Stadium will host the match. Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium will host the IPL 2021 finals on May 30.

"Each team is set to play at four venues during the league stage. Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. One of the highlights of this edition of the VIVO IPL will be the fact that all matches will be played at neutral venues, no team will play at their home venue. All teams will play at 4 out of 6 venues during the league stage", the Governing Council said in its press release.
× RELATED To beat oxygen crisis, UP govt makes doctor's prescription mandatory to sell oxygen!