Telangana BJP: One Seat, Too Many Claimants

With the BJP's stars in Telangana clearly on the ascendant, there is a competition within the party to take reins of the state unit. There are at least five claimants to the state president's post in the BJP. Each of them knows that if he becomes the president, he is assured of two terms and that there will be an extension for another year because of the election years. So, they feel the post will give them power and a free hand in distributing the B forms.

If sources are to be believed, party's lone MLA Raja Singh, Karimnagar MP Bandi Sanjay, lone MLC N Ramachandra Ra are aspiring for the post. In addition, the name of P Muralidhar Rao is also doing rounds. Though Muralidhar Rao has not staked his claim, a majority of the party workers feel that he is the right candidate to lead the party in Telangana. Some other leaders are also trying their luck. The name of firebrand party leader from Dubbak Raghunandan Rao is also doing rounds. Interestingly, except Raja Singh and Ramachandra Rao, all other party candidates are from the rural Telangana. Except for Chilakam Ramachandra Reddy, most of the party state presidents are from Hyderabad city only.

Meanwhile, the central leadership has formed a screening committee to chose the next party president in Telangana. The committee will meet various leaders and elicit their opinions. It is also likely to meet those who are aspiring to become presidents.

× RELATED BJP Welcomes New National President