Why these 27 TRS MLAs the happiest?

Tap to expand
While KCR's warning that he would hold the MLAs responsible if the TRS loses in their constituencies is sending shivers down the spine of several TRS MLAs, some 38 MLAs seem to be unperturbed. They do not seem to be unduly worried. The reason? There are no civic polls in the 38 assembly constituencies that these MLAs represent.

While others are busy deciding the candidates and fixing dissidence, there 38 MLAs are sitting pretty as there are no corporations and municipalities in their constituencies. Interestingly, 27 of these 38 seats are represented by the TRS. There are no elections in the constituencies represented by ministers T Harish Rao, Talasani Srinivas Yadav and Ajay Puvvada. So, they don't have to sweat it out in these elections.

For some ministers, however, there are many municipalities to win.For instance, in Minister Malla Reddy's Medchal, there are two corporations and seven municipalities. So, he has a lot to worry. In addition to the elections, he also has dissidence from former MLA Sudheer Reddy's camp. Similarly, there are four municipalities in minister Sabitha Indra Reddy and four constituencies in Rajendra Nagar, which is represented by MLA Prakash Goud. In Mancherial, Qutbullahpur, Makthal and Alampur assembly constituencies, there are three municipal councils each. In 18 seats held by the TRS, there are two municipalities each.
Show comments