What An Applause For Smriti Irani In Lok Sabha?

Tap to expand
First Session of 17th Lok Sabha commenced Today. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and all the elected MP took oath as Members in the House.

Union Minister Smriti Irani received the longest applause when she took oath as the MP of 17th Lok Sabha. The reason behind it is defeating none other than Rahul Gandhi in Amethi during the 2019 Elections.

Soon after Smriti Irani was called for oath taking, PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, rest of the Union Ministers, MPs of BJP & its Allies began thumping the desk and it lasted for more time than anybody has anticipated. Irani greeted Pro-Tem Speaker Virendra Kumar, Sonia Gandhi and other Opposition Leaders after taking oath. Rahul Gandhi wasn't present in the House when Smriti Irani took oath. It could have been a major embarrassment had if he was in the House when BJP MPs made Smriti Irani feel special.

In 2019 Elections, Smriti Irani defeated Rahul Gandhi by a margin of over 55,000 votes in Amethi, Uttar Pradesh.
Show comments