Soren copies Jagan formula: Five capitals for Jharkhand?

Tap to expand
Taking cue from AP Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, Jharkhand too will have multiple capitals. One of these will be the main capitals, while the remaining will be sub-capitals. So, if Jharkhand's young CM Hemant Soren has his way, Jharkhand will have one main capital and four sub-capitals.

Interestingly, Jharkhand is far too smaller compared to AP, but will have five capitals. Jharkhand, formed in 2001, has deep regional imbalances and former CM Babulal Marandi has in 2001 announced that Dumka town would be the sub-capital for the state in addition to the capital city of Ranchi. But, nothing much was done and no allocations were made for Dumka all these years. Now if Soren has his way, Mediningar, Chaibasa and Giridih will become sub-capitals along with Dumka. Jharkhand, a mainly tribal inhabited state, has three major regions – Kolhan, Palamu and Chota Nagpur. Now, each of these region will have a sub-capital.

Hemant Soren feels that this would help in achieving alround development in the state and will take the administration closer to the people. He feels that the AP model of three capitals is an idea that is worth emulating. It will be interesting to see how Hemant Soren's formula works.
Show comments