Shiv Sena MLAs sulk as Uddhav Thackeray ignores them

Tap to expand
All is not well in Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena. Due to coalition compulsions, several Shiv Sena MLAs have not been made ministers leading to lot of heartburn in the party.  These MLAs are upset at not being considered for a minister's post.

Leading the pack is party's MP and chief spokesperson Sanjay Raut. He is upset that his brother Sunil Raut was not considered for the post. Upset at this, he chose to skip the swearing-in of the new ministers. When asked, he said he was busy with the work in Saamna office. Several other senior Shiv Sena hands like Deepak Kesarkar, Tanaji Sawant, Ravindra Waikar, Diwakar Raote and Ramdas Kadam too did not find a place in the expanded cabinet. They are also very unhappy at being omitted.  Uddhav is now busy trying to mollify the disgruntled MLAs of his party.

With the latest expansion, the total strength of the cabinet has gone up to 43. On Tuesday, 36 new ministers were inducted.  As of today, the Shiv Sena combine has 154 MLAs, including 56 from Shiv Sena, 54 of NCP and 44 of the Congress. The Opposition BJP has 105 MLAs.
Show comments