Polling for Phase I begins in Jharkhand

Tap to expand

The first phase of polls in Jharkhand has begun. As many as 13 constituencies from six districts will see polling in the first phase of the five phase polls. The constituencies going to polls on Saturday are: Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Hussainabad, Chatra, Gumla, Garhwa, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, and Bhawanathpur.

The polling will take place in 3906 polling stations and there are 189 candidates. As many as 37,83,055 voters, who include 18,01,356 women and five third gender voters, will exercise their franchise in the first phase. Polling will begin at 7 am and end at 3 pm.

This phase is important for the BJP as it had won six out of the 13 seats in the 2014 elections. This time around the BJP is contesting alone, while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Congress and the RJD are fighting in alliance. BJP's former ally All Jharkhand Students Union too is contesting alone. Among the key candidates contesting the elections in the first phase are Health Minister Ramchandra Chandravanshi and PCC chief Rameshwar Oraon.

The major issues in this election are: governance, Naxal violence, human trafficking , mob lynching and rising unemployment.

Show comments