Officially India Now Has 28 States And 9 Union Territories.

Tap to expand
The Narendra Modi government, which took a historical decision by removing Article 370 took another decision. On Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel's birth anniversary, the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh were carved out of Jammu and Kashmir. Radha Krishna Mathur and G.C. Murmu will be the first lieutenant governors (L Gs).

As part of this transition, the radio stations in Jammu, Srinagar, and Leh have been renamed as All India Radio, Jammu; All India Radio, Srinagar; and All India Radio Leh. While addressing the gathering at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 144th birth anniversary, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: "Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh are taking a step towards a new future today".

Following the orders of President Ram Nath Kovind, the special status of Jammu and Kashmir was removed under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution.

With this, the Assembly strength of Jammu and Kashmir will be increased to 114 from 107. The strength of the council of ministers will be cut down by 10 percent of the total strength of the legislature.

The Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will continue with five MPs in the Lok Sabha and four MPs in the Rajya Sabha. While the Union Territory of Ladakh will have one MP.
Show comments