Municipal Elections 2019: EC Confirms Reservations!

Tap to expand
A controversy over the delay in the confirmation of Reservations in the elections scheduled to happen for 128 Municipalities and 13 Corporations on January 22nd this year has become a hot topic since the Election Commission announced dates of Municipal Polls. Opposition Parties questioned how could EC delay the confirmation of Reservations till January 6th when the nominations process is slated to begin on Jan 8th? Finally, The Election Commission ended the controversy by declaring the reservations by Today itself.

13 Corporations:

General - 7 (Karimnagar, Bodduppal, Greater Hyderabad, Khammam, Nizampet, Pirzadiguda, Bandagpet)

BC - 4 (Warangal, Nizamabad, Jawahar Nagar, Bandlaguda)

SC - 1 (Ramagundam)

ST - 1 (Meerpet)

123 Municipalities:

General - 62; BC - 40; SC - 17, ST - 4

Rest of the 5 Municipalities: EC opined there is still time to announce in which category Jedcherla and Nakirekal Municipalities fit in. Announcement about Palvancha, Mandamarri and Manuguru has been delayed for different reasons.

Election Commission made sure Reservations didn't exceed 50 percent. 33 percent reservations for 32.5 percent of BC Population, 14 percent reservations for 3.6 percent SC Population and 3.25 percent reservations for 1.9 percent ST Population. As per the new Municipal Act, Same reservations will be followed for the next elections as well.


Show comments