How did parties in Telugu states react to the Citizenship Bill?

Tap to expand
Late on Monday night, the Lok Sabha passed the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 with a large majority. Of the members present, 311 voted in favour of the Bill and 80 voted against.

According to the proposed legislation, members of Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities, who have come from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, till December 31 2014, and facing religious persecution there, will not be treated as illegal immigrants and will be given Indian citizenship.

TRS vehemently opposed the bill. They argued that the bill was discriminatory. TRS MP's said that they would vote against them if they did not include Muslim minorities under the bill.

MP Nama Nageshwara Rao has made his claim that they are supporting minorities. He was speaking in Telugu on this occasion. Majlis chief Asaduddin Owaisi vehemently opposed the bill.YSR Congress MPs voted in favour. As usual, the TDP could not decide on the bill. Galla Jayadev and Rammohan Naidu vote in favour of the bill.
Show comments