PK To Be TDP's Choice For PAC Chairman Post

Tap to expand
Chandrababu Naidu appointed Payyavula Keshav as the Chairman of AP Public Accounts Committee. A communication in this regard was sent to Speaker Tammineni Sitharam by the Main Opposition.

Initially, TDP Leadership thought of offering PAC Chairman post to a BC or Kapu. As Deputy Floor Leaders have been from BC and Kapu Communities already, A decision was taken to rely on Payyavula Keshav who have good command on various issues.

PAC Chairman Post which guarantees Cabinet Rank is generally offered to the Main Opposition. Buggana Rajendranath Reddy served as PAC Chairman when YCP was in the Opposition for the past 5 years. Ganta Srinivasa Rao, Nimmakayala Chinna Rajappa, Karanam Balaram and Gadde Rammohan lobbied for this post. However, Chandrababu Naidu preferred Payyavula Keshav as he is a good speaker and can be aggressive if needed.

While Payyavula Keshav will be the chairman of Public Accounts Committee, 8 MLAs of the Ruling Party will act as members of PAC. Both Ganta and Karanam aren't happy with the appointment of PK.