3 TDP MLAs from Prakasam leaving the party?

Tap to expand
Here's a shocker for TDP chief Chandrababu. At least three of his four MLAs from Prakasam district are all set to leave the party. They are intensely lobbying with YSRCP ministers Kodali Nani, Balineni Srinivas Reddy and Perni Nani. Sources in the know say that these MLAs are in consultation with these leaders and might even meet Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy soon.

The MLAs are Karanam Balaram of Chirala, Gottipati Ravikumar of Addanki and Dola Sri Bala Veeranjaneya Swamy of Kondepi. Minister Kodali Nani is said to be in direct touch with another MLA Eluri Sambasiva Rao.  Of these, there is said to be some diffidence only from Ravikumar. Significantly, soon after his refusal, there were raids on his quarries. There is a strong buzz that at least three of the four MLAs met Balineni Srinivasa Reddy at  his Vijayawada residence on Tuesday night.

Sources also say that a worried Chandrababu Naidu had called up all the MLAs from the district on Tuesday night. He is said to have requested them to stay in the party. However, there is a buzz that Chandrababu is more worried about losing the Leader of the Opposition status in the assembly. If six of his MLAs leave the party, Chandrababu would lose the LOP status. So, he is trying every trick in the trade to prevent his MLAs from leaving the party.
Show comments