28 States & 9 Union Territories In India

Tap to expand
The latest move of NDA Government to bifurcate Jammu & Kashmir into two Union Territories not only decreases the count of States but also increases Union Territories in the country. Number of states in India has fallen to 28 from 29 and count of Union Territories increased from 7 to 9.

Before Telangana Statehood became a reality on June 2nd, 2014, There used to be 28 States in the country. That's how Telangana became the 29th and youngest state in India. But now, The count of states has again been 28 with Jammu & Kashmir becoming Union Territory with legislature and Ladakh turning into Union Territory without legislature. And now, Telangana becomes 28th state but continues to remain youngest of all.

Until now, There used to be 22 Districts in Kashmir. They were divided as Jammu (10), Kashmir (10) and Ladakh (10) regions. With the latest move, Ladakh region comprising of Leh and Kargil got recognised as a Union Territory. Jammu & Kashmir having 20 districts will be Union Territory with legislature.


Show comments