2019 - A Disappointing Year For Congress

Tap to expand
Year 2019 is one year that the Telangana Congress would like to forget at the earliest. It was an year of defeats, failures and flops.  Instead of working together, its leaders quarrelled among themselves and washed dirty linen in public. As KCR and a resurgent TRS inflicted injury upon injury on it, the Congress reeled and writhed in pain. Sadly, 2020 promises not to be any different for the party.

In 2018, the Congress suffered its worst defeat in Telangana in the assembly elections. It was reduced to less than 20 seats while KCR romped home with a bigger majority. Twelve of its MLAs have not just defected from the party, but also announced the merger of the CLP into the TRSLP. The party is now left with just six MLAs.  Even among these six MLAs, Munugode MLA Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy is criticsing the party leadership and is making statements that are pro-BJP. To add insult to injury, several senior leaders like DK Aruna, Sunitha Laxma Reddy, KR Suresh Reddy and several others left the party.

In the ZP elections, the Congress could not win even a single Zilla Parishads. It performed  a shade better in the panchayat elections, but was still outwitted by the TRS. In the Lok Sabha elections, however, the party did slightly better. It won three seats and came a close second in two more seats. But, in most other Lok Sabha seats, it lost security deposits.  Though it could get Jeevan Reddy elected as MLC for graduates constituency, it lost the prestigious Huzurabad constituency. Throughout the year, the Congress could not put up one successful fight and even a single public agitation in the state. Its support to RTC stir fizzled out and the solitary fight put up by Revanth Reddy was opposed not by the TRS, but by the Congressmen themselves.  The year 2020 comes with another big challenge in the form of municipal elections. Will Congress salvage at least some of its lost prestige? Let’s wait and see what's in store for the Congress in 2020.